Goodbye my friend


I have a heavy heart today.  Yesterday morning I learned that a close friend, Norm, died last Sunday evening.  We hadn’t seen each other in some time, but we’d known each other for more than a decade.  He was one of my major lean-ons when my marriage came to an end, and I spent a lot of time with him when his father passed away & then later he lost his wife to another man.  He’s also leaving behind 2 children.

Ironically, I was thinking just the day before I learned of his death about how I needed to find a way to go to one of his karaoke shows.  I hadn’t been in quite a while, as my job & family don’t allow for any social life.  I was going to suggest  that we (my husband & I) go out to one of his shows this coming weekend.  Now I expect this weekend that I’ll be saying goodbye to him instead.

This is the third close friend that I’ve lost to death.  One expects deaths to occur in the family, grandparents passing on and so forth.  But you don’t expect your friends to die.  They should stick around forever.  But they don’t.  Now I’ve lost 3.  I have enough trouble keeping friends as friends, so it sure isn’t fair to have them die on me. 

I’m not sure which hurts worse, when they die or when they dump me.

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in comes from my third blog site. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

