Beautiful


Check this out!

I love this video.  It’s on YouTube, but I found it on the blog of the wonderful woman who changed my marriage even though we never met;  Shannon Ethridge.  Maybe I’ll write about how she changed my marriage in some other blog, but right now, I want to write about beauty.

Wrinkled? Wonderful

I love the ways that Dove has been advertising lately.  “No wonder our perception of beauty is distorted.”  I think it’s really great.  But, I must ask you to forgive my skepticism because I seriously doubt that this wonderful advertising campaign has made that much of a difference (other than to increase the sale of their products) in helping

too old for anti-aging ads

women change their thinking in terms of body-image and beauty.  I mean, how can it when you have Drew Barrymore in her hair extensions, stick-on lashes and 6-inch heels promoting a makeup line that can make you “beautiful” like her?  It’s a constant visual bombardment.  It’s every where you look whether you want to see it or not.  In all fairness to Dove, it certainly does appear that they are making an honest effort in increasing awareness about the falseness in advertising and improving self-esteem and how important that is.  They do have a website devoted to this which does contain some great information and videos.

But they are fighting a never-ending battle because, as far as I can tell, they are not including the most important point…your self worth can only be found in God.  The Bible says we were created in God’s image.  If we were created in the image of the Creator of the universe, how could we ever think we’re ugly?

Taken Sept 11, 2010

I’m about 5’7″ and I weigh close to 200lbs (I seem to hover around 185lbs to 195lbs).  So, yes, I’m a little heavy as you can see in this picture.  (I’m the one in purple – not the furry one…isn’t she cute!)  I was fortunate that I was able to maintain my slimness after having children, but that was only up to the first two, both which were born before I was 25.  My third and last child came when I was in my early 30’s (she was almost my 33rd birthday present, as a matter of fact) and that was when the weight stayed.  My mother told me that that was the way it was when you had three.  Maybe she’s right, I don’t know.  But, I made a conscious decision when I realized that that extra 40 or so pounds were not going to come off.  I decided that I was not going to allow my weight to be anything more than a number.  It was not going to define me.  I also figure now that a mother of 3 who’s knocking on 40 has every bit of right to be fat without guilt.  I’ve earned those pounds and I’ll keep ’em if I want to, even though it’s weird to look in the mirror and see my head on my mother’s body.  In all honesty, though, I’ve only been able to keep this attitude because of my husband and my God.  (I will admit that there is a part of my body I have troubles with…it’s that stuff hanging under my chin.  I wish it would go away.)

Now I know there are thousands of women who are heavy and have never had children and perhaps are not married.  I know many women like that.  To them I say this.  Who cares.  The only people who matter, won’t care what weight you may be.  I know many who worry they’ll never meet a man because they’re heavy.  I say, so what.  Find your validation in the love of God.  When you truly love yourself for you, you will exhibit the attractiveness that the right man will see. You don’t want men to just lust after you anyway.  That kind of attention is overwhelming and unsatisfying and makes it so much easier to fall into sexual sin.

I have a friend with a remarkable philosophy.  She says “I wanna be so lost in God that a guy has to find HIM before he finds me!!”

All women need to stop with this comparing themselves to other women, especially all those nipped and tucked and photoshopped fakes out there.  They’re not real!

When you understand that you are the bride of Christ, you can understand what beauty really means.

God made you and He doesn’t make junk.

One of the best song writers out there wrote a wonderful song about this very thing.  I applaud the person who put this video together.  They did a great job putting pictures with the lyrics.  The lyrics are below.

Fingerprints of God by Steven Curtis-Chapman

I can see the tears filling your eyes
And I know where they’re coming from
They’re coming from a heart that’s broken in two
By what you don’t see
The person in the mirror
Doesn’t look like a magazine
Oh but when I look at you
It’s clear to me

That I can see the fingerprints of God
When I look at you
I can see the fingerprints of God
And I know it’s true
You’re a masterpiece that all creation
Quietly applauds
And you’re covered with
The fingerprints of God

Never has there been and never again
Will there be another you
Fashioned by God’s hand and perfectly planned
To be just who you are
And what He’s been creating
Since the first beat of your heart
Is a living, breathing
Priceless work of art

And I can see the fingerprints of God
When I look at you
I can see the fingerprints of God
And I know it’s true
You’re a masterpiece that all creation
Quietly applauds
And you’re covered with
The fingerprints of God

Just look at you
You’re a wonder in the making
And God’s not through
In fact, He’s just getting started!

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in This 'n that. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautiful

  1. Liz says:

    Strong, Sharon. Wanna pump some weights with me?

Leave a Reply

