Luke 11:24-26 – My thoughts


Luke 11:24-26 (NASB)

24“When the unclean spirit goes out of a man, it passes through waterless places seeking rest, and not finding any, it says, ‘I will return to my house from which I came.’

25“And when it comes, it finds it swept and put in order.

26“Then it goes and takes along seven other spirits more evil than itself, and they go in and live there; and the last state of that man becomes worse than the first.”

When I write “My Thoughts” on a particular piece of scripture, I try to do it in a very general way; that is, I try to just give my interpretation of the passage in a way that can be applicable to anybody.  This time, however, I’m going to discuss this passage in relation to my own life.  I must do it this way because, even though I’ve read that passage many times, it hit me only the other day how it could explain a few things in my life.

I had become a Christian as a young child and then fell away pretty badly in my mid-teen years and early adulthood.  Then I attended a church that changed my life.  As a mid-twenties single mother of two, I surrendered everything back to God and my life became incredible.  That first “unclean spirit” was gone.  The peace and joy that really does surpass understanding lived in my heart and life.

It’s hard to pinpoint where I fell again, but I think it started with a small, insignificant rejection from a man that attended my church – I’ll call him Oliver.  We were both attracted to each other and flirted with each other till he discovered that I was younger than he thought I was (I think there was about an 18 year difference).   Many people have thought I was older than I was because they were assuming my age based on the age of my oldest child.  Well, Oliver immediately withdrew all advances he was making towards me and cut off all communication.  It really was a small, insignificant rejection – we hadn’t gone any farther than having coffee together once.  We didn’t talk on the phone all the time.  It was mostly flirting at church and the occasional email.  But he was the first man to offer me compliments that made me blush (in a good way – there was nothing indecent about his flirting).  And rejection is something that, since my childhood consisted of many rather brutal rejections, I have never been able to take as small or insignificant.

I’m pretty sure that that’s where it started, because I know there were some pretty serious mistakes (with men) that followed soon after.  And it went on and on in a downwards spiral that affected many people in very negative ways.  some that I still haven’t quite been able to forgive myself for.

I don’t think it even registered to me that I took Oliver’s rejection hard.  That unclean spirit snuck back in and he brought friends.  And the last several years have, for the most part, been much worse than my life was before.  It is, however much better now.  God has worked so hard, and incredibly subtly, in my life that the wounds that have been plaguing me are starting to heal.

We (God and I) are not finished yet.  But recent attacks from the enemy (and I had a serious onslaught just yesterday) are telling me that I am on the right path and the devil’s getting worried.

I will be dangerous for God.

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in This 'n that. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Luke 11:24-26 – My thoughts

  1. Lisa says:

    “I will be dangerous for God.” I like that!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

