My First Christmas Post


The following is something I wrote exactly 10 years ago.  I’m not sure why I wrote it like I was writing a letter to someone.  I don’t recall mailing it to anyone, but who knows, maybe I did.  At the age of 27 I was a single mother of 7 and 3 year old boys and life was good…I had very recently surrendered my life to Jesus and the blessings were incredible.

Enjoy.

December 1, 2000

Happy Month of Christmas!

We had snow yesterday, and I was inspired to finally put up my tree, pitiful thing that it is, but my children think it’s wonderful.

I love Christmas.  What I think of the most, in the past few years, is more from a mother’s point of view.  I often think of what it must have been like for Mary, who knew who she was giving birth to in that stable.

There’s no way to sugarcoat it, giving birth hurts like crazy – Carol Burnett described labor pains: “Take your bottom lip and pull it over your head.”  Pretty accurate, in my opinion.  But then you get this beautiful little person lying on your stomach looking at you – and the pain is gone.  The reward was worth the suffering.  I bet Mary’s pain ended even faster.  She gave birth to the only person capable of saving the entire world.  Wow!!

It’s kind of ironic.  It would be possible that Mary suffered throughout the pregnancy.  Who knows, maybe she had morning sickness the whole nine months, like some women do.  Maybe she suffered with a lot of Braxton Hicks contractions (false labor).  Can you appreciate how uncomfortable it would have been to be massively pregnant and be sitting on a not-so-steadily-moving donkey for who knows how long they would have been travelling for?  I found it bad enough to be in a car with good shock absorbers.

So, maybe she did suffer.  She suffered to bring about the Messiah, the savior of the world.  Just as her son suffered to save the world.  How can we not be thankful?  How can we not praise and worship?  There are so many who don’t and so many who do it falsely.  And there are so many who don’t really know any better.

I urge to you remember those people.  It’s this time of year when want, in every form of the word, is most keenly felt.  Grab an old sleeping bag and give it to a homeless bum, along with a sandwich.  Donate to your local Christmas bureau.

Having been a recipient of (my city’s) Christmas Bureau for the last few years, I must say I’m amazed at the generosity of my fellow man.  Sometimes it sure seems like everyone on the planet cares only for themselves and no one else.  Last Christmas, some of the gifts that my children got from Santa’s Anonymous were probably bought for around $35-$50!! (In my opinion that pretty expensive toys)

I guess it’s another irony.  The time of year when want is more keenly felt, is also the time of year when people are more caring and giving.  Why do you suppose that is?

I think it’s just proof that God works within the hearts of everybody, despite their belief.  You never know how the seed can get planted, or who will be watering it, or who will harvest the fruits of that seed.

What could happen in the heart of someone who sees you on (the streets), giving that sleeping bag and sandwich to the bum on the street?

Just some food for thought.

YSIC

Sharon

Just to add one more thought; giving should never occur just at Christmas.  Our hearts, wallets and supplies should be warm and open to those in need all year round.

Be immersed in God’s grace,

Sharon

December 1, 2000

Happy Month of Christmas!

We had snow yesterday, and I was inspired to finally put up my tree, pitiful thing that it is, but my children think it’s wonderful.

I love Christmas.  What I think of the most, in the past few years, is more from a mother’s point of view.  I often think of what it must have been like for Mary, who knew who she was giving birth to in that stable.

There’s no way to sugarcoat it, giving birth hurts like crazy – Carol Burnett described labor pains: “Take your bottom lip and pull it over your head.”  Pretty accurate, in my opinion.  But then you get this beautiful little person lying on your stomach looking at you – and the pain is gone.  The reward was worth the suffering.  I bet Mary’s pain ended even faster.  She gave birth to the only person capable of saving the entire world.  Wow!!

It’s kind of ironic.  It would be possible that Mary suffered throughout the pregnancy.  Who knows, maybe she had morning sickness the whole nine months, like some women do.  Maybe she suffered with a lot of Braxton Hicks contractions (false labor).  Can you appreciate how uncomfortable it would have been to be massively pregnant and be sitting on a not-so-steadily-moving donkey for who knows how long they would have been travelling for?  I found it bad enough to be in a car with good shock absorbers.

So, maybe she did suffer.  She suffered to bring about the Messiah, the savior of the world.  Just as her son suffered to save the world.  How can we not be thankful?  How can we not praise and worship?  There are so many who don’t and so many who do it falsely.  And there are so many who don’t really know any better.

I urge to you remember those people.  It’s this time of year when want, in every form of the word, is most keenly felt.  Grab an old sleeping bag and give it to a homeless bum, along with a sandwich.  Donate to your local Christmas bureau.

Having been a recipient of the Edmonton Christmas Bureau for the last few years, I must say I’m amazed at the generosity of my fellow man.  Sometimes it sure seems like everyone on the planet cares only for themselves and no one else.  Last Christmas, some of the gifts that my children got from Santa’s Anonymous were probably bought for around $35-$50!! (In my opinion that pretty expensive toys)

I guess it’s another irony.  The time of year when want is more keenly felt, is also the time of year when people are more caring and giving.  Why do you suppose that is?

I think it’s just proof that God works within the hearts of everybody, despite their belief.  You never know how the seed can get planted, or who will be watering it, or who will harvest the fruits of that seed.

What could happen in the heart of someone who sees you on Whyte Ave., giving that sleeping bag and sandwich to the bum on the street?

Just some food for thought.

YSIC

Sharon

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in This 'n that. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

