The Battle for Control


Today’s reading: Genesis, Chapters 1-3

My focus on this portion of Scripture fell onto Genesis 3:16.  Now, the whole verse reads

To the woman He said,
“I will greatly multiply
Your pain in childbirth,
In pain you will bring forth children;
Yet your desire will be for your husband,
And he will rule over you.”

but I’m not even looking at the part about childbirth.  What intrigued me was the last bit of that verse. “Yet your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.”

I read my Scripture (which I always read in New American Standard Bible (NASB) version) off of YouVersion.com which allows you to look at more than one translation at a time.  I have discovered that the New English Translation (NET) has a lot to offer, and it’s translation puts this passage in quite a different light:

You will want to control your husband,
but he will dominate you.

Well, that’s certainly different.  (This translation on YouVersion has a lot of notes tacked on to many words within the verses.  These notes are very useful as they often go into detail about the original language and it’s meaning in context.  If you check out YouVersion, you can check out the notes for yourself.)

The NASB version implies at first glance that the woman will pine for the man and the man will be the boss.  But, according to the notes in the NET translation, you need to look at the word “desire” in the context that it’s used in Genesis 4:7 where it refers to sin’s desire to dominate and control Cain.

That makes perfect sense to me.  What woman doesn’t want a man who will lavish her with her every desire and need and desire?  And it’s more than a sexual thing by far.  Women want men to do what they want, to read their minds and know how they feel at every moment and to respond to those needs that may arise from how they feel.  Dominate and control.  That’s exactly what women desire. That could certainly be what “your desire will be for your husband” means.

Actually, isn’t that what everyone desires?  Domination and control over those around you?  It is.  Parents try to control their children and their spouse.  Anyone who says they haven’t desired control over others is lying.  It’s human nature – a result of Adam & Eve’s sin in the garden.

That is what that passage is about.  God was telling Eve about the constant conflict that there would be between men and women.

Learning this puts in mind a much uglier picture of what the world must have been like before the great flood.  And how much uglier would it be now if it wasn’t for the redemption of man (and women) bought by Jesus Christ.  I shudder to think.

When I look at my own marriage in light of this, I see where I am being no better than a woman without redemption.  I make demands on my husband that I shouldn’t.  I seek for fulfillment from him that I can only find in Jesus which is completely unfair and selfish of me to demand from him.  I must strive to do better and not try to do it on my own strength.

Let’s pray, shall we?

God, help me to resist the deceptions of the enemy and to be the godly wife – equal in the partnership of marriage and not seeking for control over my husband.  Reveal to me my weak spots, where selfishness still rears it’s ugly head, and help me to submit to my husband in accordance to your commands.  Thank you for my husband, who is generous and courteous and considerate and kind.  Help me to be the wife that he deserves.  Amen.

Well, this blog is not as in-depth as I’d like it to be.  I wanted to add a great deal more detail, but I’m quite exhausted.  My kids are at the end of their 2 weeks of holidays and I am really, really, really looking forward to their going back.

Well, stay tuned and God bless, and by all means, leave some insight in the comments.  I’m always looking to learn 😉

Be immersed in God’s grace,

Sharon

Tomorrow’s reading is Genesis chapters 4-7

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Bible Study and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

