Children


Today’s reading: Job, chapters 1-5

My focus on this portion of Scripture fell onto Job 1:5, which says,

When the days of feasting had completed their cycle, Job would send and consecrate them, rising up early in the morning and offering burnt offerings according to the number of them all; for Job said, “Perhaps my sons have sinned and cursed God in their hearts.” Thus Job did continually.

I have to wonder if this is a father just cleaning up after his children party or if it is just making sure that they haven’t left anything out in their own worship of God.

Job did this continually.

That’s a devotion I don’t know if I could have for either reason.  I know for a fact that if my children, as adults, choose to live in debauchery, I will not clean up after them.  I’ve known parents who did – they do their children no favors.

I have to say, though, that looking at what the previous verses say, I’m more inclined to believe that his children were probably enjoying the good life but, because of the influence of their father, not necessarily in any sinful way.  Otherwise, why would Job have said, “Perhaps my sons have sinned and cursed God in their hearts.” But Job wanted to make sure that any sins on their parts were atoned for.

Now that’s a devoted father.

How much attention do we pay to the welfare of the souls of our children?  Not enough for a lot of us I’m sure.  We get wrapped up in life and dealing with the bare necessities of keeping our children alive in this world sometimes, I think, to the detriment of their souls.

I have not lived a Christian life all of my childrens’ lives.  It’s only been a few years that I could have borne any kind of influence of God to them.  Have I done so?  Not nearly as much as I wish I had.  I don’t know that if all the time it’s taken to let the Holy Spirit work on me has had any kind of effect on my children.

It’s a disturbing thought.

I know my 4-year-old is at an age of innocence.  But on the other hand, I accepted Jesus when I was 4.  And it was real (although I know there are many who would disagree).  I have special needs children whose minds I can’t possibly know.  But God does.  There’s no way for me to know if they understand anything about faith.  I guess I have to leave them in His hands and try to be a good influence and teacher, whether they understand anything I’m saying or not.  Then there’s my 12-year-old, who is not special needs and is extremely bright but quite immature.  I’ve talked to him a couple of times about what it really means to be a Christian (which he calls himself); that it means accepting Christ as your Savior, and not just going to church and believing there’s a God.  I guess for him, I need to be more of a godly mother and wife and pray for him diligently.  I don’t have the luxury of Job, to sacrifice in atonement for my son’s sin.  His sin is up to him.  I can only guide him to a point.  Have I been doing a very good job?  I don’t think so.  I must do better.  I must live a more godly life, in grace and through the strength of the Holy Spirit.  And I will continue praying for him and the rest of my children.  Won’t you join me?

Let’s pray, shall we?

Oh, God in Heaven, thank  you for my children.  Each one is a gift, even though they sometimes feel like a curse.  Bless them in ways that they will know it came from You.  Give me the strength and wisdom to deal with whatever may come up and to teach them to know You.  Soften their hearts and reveal Yourself to them so that they may come to You.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

 

Our children are the future.  We must teach them how to be that.

Something to think about,

Be immersed in grace,

Sharon

What are ways you’ve taught your children about Jesus?  I’d love to hear about them!

 

Tomorrow’s readings: Job, chapters 6-9

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Bible Study and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

