My Passion


As anyone who reads me knows, I get devotionals in my email.  Most of them come from Crosswalk.com (which has lots of great stuff to inspire you in your walk with God, for all areas of your life; work, marriage, parenting, spiritual growth – I highly recommend it.)  Today’s Wisdom from the Psalms really touched me.

Psalm 8:5
Thou hast made him a little lower than the angels, and hast crowned him with glory and honour.

There are not many days that go by where I feel very holy. As much as I might like to be a reflection of Jesus Christ, I am afraid that my image is a very dim one at best. For each success I have at walking in the footsteps of Christ, I have a dozen failures where I have strayed from the path. And through it all, God still loves me totally. In my imperfection, God still reveres me and thinks I am good. It boggles the mind to realize that human beings are God’s pride and joy. Despite the grief and frustration we must be, God believes in us and helps us to be the best people that we can be. He loves His children and rejoices in their victories. Our Lord created us just lower than the angels; the most perfect of His creations. Despair not. No matter how inadequate we might feel, we are considered beautiful by our Creator, and in the end it is His opinion, not ours, that makes all the difference in the world.

Prayer: Grant me spiritual wings that I might soar as an angel on this earth, O Lord. Help me to live up to the intention You had at my creation. Let me wear my crown wisely and proudly, to Your glory. Amen.

I sighed with a smile as I read this

Did you catch that part in the middle?

“In my imperfection, God still reveres me and thinks I am good. It boggles the mind to realize that human beings are God’s pride and joy. Despite the grief and frustration we must be, God believes in us and helps us to be the best people that we can be.”

It humbles me and sometimes moves me to tears, the thought that God could revere someone like me.  I know what a terribly selfish and prideful person I can be.  I’ve often said that I’m probably the one that makes God clap His hands over His eyes and shake His head in exasperation more than anyone else (kind of like what my 12-year-old does to me ;))  But, as I love my son with everything I am and would die for him, God loves me even more than that.  It boggles my mind.

It’s amazing that the God who can span the universe with His hand (Isaiah 40:12) would love and care for little old me.  But He does!  He really does!!

And if He loves a completely messed up woman like me, imagine how much He loves you!  Sinner or saint, He loves you!  And those who have a personal relationship with His Son can bask in His love in a tangible way.  We can really feel it.

Those who don’t know Him will never understand it until they make the decision to accept Christ as their Savior.

Have you done that?  Have you made the decision that will change your life and rock your world?

Do you want to?

Let’s do it!

Romans 10: 9, 10, 13 says this:

If you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.  For “WHOEVER WILL CALL ON THE NAME OF THE LORD WILL BE SAVED.”

That’s all there is to it.  You just have to believe in your heart that Jesus is the Savior and that He was raised from the dead by God.

If you believe that, all you have to do is pray:

Dear God,  I believe that Jesus was your Son and that He died for my sins.  I believe that You raised Him from the dead and that He is alive today.  I confess that I am a sinner and ask Your forgiveness for my sins.  I accept Jesus as my Savior now and know that I will live with Him eternally.  Thank you for saving me.  In Jesus name, Amen.

If you prayed that prayer and really believed it, you and I are brother/sister in Christ.  And that is so amazing!!  You’re about to embark upon the most incredible journey.  I’m not saying it’ll be all a bowl of cherries from now on.  Living the Christian life is not easy.  But when you keep your eyes on God, amazing things can happen.  If you read some of my past blogs you can learn about some of my journey with Christ.  And I’ve barely scratched the surface of my life in my blogs.

I found a website with a wonderful prayer for salvation and more information for after you’ve prayed.  I highly recommend you check it out.

If you’ve decided not to do this right now and have questions, feel free to ask.  You can send questions directly to my email below.

Well, let’s wrap it up for now.  But if you’ve prayed that prayer for the first time, I’d love to hear about it.  Please leave a comment below or email me directly at sharon31673@yahoo.ca.

Be immersed in God’s glorious Grace!

Sharon

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christian living, other people's writings that I am borrowing with thanks, This 'n that and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Passion

  1. Pingback: Chasing Love | For What It's Worth (The Gozette)

Leave a Reply

