Regarding parenting


Click on the link below and read this article.

Raising Godly Men.

This is a great article, yet a little depressing to me.  It reminds me of how I went wrong with my boys.

I was married and a mom before I was 21.  Then later, by 25, I was a single mom of 2 boys.  I wish I had been right with God in those days…I wonder if I would be having so much trouble with my 12-year-old now if I was (it’s mainly attitude and selfishness problems – he hasn’t gotten in to really bad things…yet).  My oldest is autistic, which makes everything very different, and he’s almost 18.  It’s weird to have an almost adult child who is still so much like a child, yet he shaves.

I just pray, and ask for prayers for my 12-year-old especially.  I fear he is going the same way I did when I was his age (which is not a good thing).  He hasn’t accepted Christ yet and I worry for him.  My autistic boy (or my 2 autistic stepsons) I don’t think can really comprehend about God and I believe they belong with the innocent.

Hearing or reading or sometimes even seeing how “perfectly” other people raise their children I wish I could find inspiring.  I don’t.  It upsets me.  When I was single with my 2 boys, I tried reading Bringing Up Boys by James Dobson, family expert.  When I got to the part about how my children were pretty much doomed because I was a single mother, I got rid of the book.  I had always respected James Dobson before that.  I still do respect him, but not to the same degree.

I have an opportunity to go to a small group about parenting, but I just can’t bring myself to go to it.  I’m afraid it’ll just make me feel bad about myself.  Not to mention that the couple who are leading this haven’t been parents for very long (they have 3 kids under 4) but they seem to be perfect.

I don’t like where my thoughts are taking me so I’m not going to add anymore to this blog.  I’ve been feeling very off for several days now.  It’s ironic how I wrote about guarding our hearts and minds just a week ago, but I’m sure having a struggle now.  I wish I knew why.

My church has intercessory prayer every Tuesday evening and I believe I will go tonight.

I will wrap this up by asking for prayers for my children, especially my 12-year-old…and for their parents.

Be blessed,

Sharon

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in just a venting moment, other people's writings that I am borrowing with thanks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Regarding parenting

  1. Pingback: Chasing Love | For What It's Worth (The Gozette)

Leave a Reply

