Plan B?


I decided today to organize what will be my final Pampered Chef show.  And I do this with mixed feelings.

Being a Pampered Chef consultant, though lucrative for some (like my director who I think earns something in the range of six figures), has not been lucrative for me.  I don’t have what it takes to talk people into booking shows with me or signing up as consultant themselves.  It requires an aggressiveness I don’t have.  Though I believe in the products – especially the stoneware, which rocks! – I can’t even fake the sales tactics required to make sales.  I only let the products speak for themselves.  Unfortunately that requires having a decent turnout to your shows, which has never been the case for me.  Two of the four shows I’ve had had the same people come to it.  Sales don’t come that way.

The thing that’s kind of bugging me about this is that I was certain that doing this was God’s idea.  I was certain it was His direction to sign up.  But there seemed to be no other direction from Him.  I prayed for help on marketing myself and the products but I never really noticed any direction.

So what’s the deal?

I just purchased a Kindle version of the book Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn’t Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? written by Tennessee pastor Pete Wilson.  I saw this gentleman on 100 Huntley Street some time ago and that was where I heard about the book.

In the book, which I’ve only just started, Pete talks about how you may have planned out your marriage and kids and career and such but then things don’t turn out the way you planned; and also he mentions how we can even feel sure that we are doing this along side with God, but things still don’t work out.  He begins the book with quite a heartbreaking example.

I can’t say personally that I’ve had a lot of Plan A’s be shattered.  I’ve never been one to plan too far ahead.  When people ask me where I see myself in 5 or 10 years, I have no answer.  The main reason that I don’t plan ahead is that I hate being disappointed.  There’s nothing worse than going into something with expectations that end up crashing down around your ears.

This is probably not the best way to live, but I’m working on it.

I enjoyed very much the interview of Pete Wilson on 100 Huntley Street which is why I wanted to read the book.  Now that I have it, I’m hoping he’ll have some insight into situations where you thought you were doing God’s will, but it turned out that you weren’t.

So I’m going to read this southerner’s (and I say that with affection, I hail from southerners myself) book and see what he has to say on the subject.

Stay tuned.  I’ll let you know what I learn.

Be blessed,

Sharon

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in other people's writings that I am borrowing with thanks, This 'n that and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

