It’s All About Image


Do you bear the image of anyone?

I look mostly like my aunt Karin.  My mother and aunt look alike enough to know they’re sisters, but I look more like my aunt than my mother. 

I’m often told that my kids look like me.  But then I tell them, you’re only saying that because they’re not standing next to who they really look like.  And that’s the truth.  When you see my oldest boy next to my ex-husband or my younger boy next to his grandpa or my daughter next to her daddy, you see who they really look like.

But did you know all people bear the image of God?

The Bible says:

God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. – Genesis 1:27

God created man in His own image.  Now, of course, you have to understand that when it says “man” it means “mankind”, and therefore it’s including women.

I think this is a pretty incredible concept.  God could have spoken man into being like He did everything else in the universe.  But He chose to get down in the dirt and create man with His own hands and breathe the breath of life into him (Genesis 2:7) – or as my dad likes to put it, performed the first CPR.

So we bear the image of God…and that’s pretty incredible.

Centuries later, God sent His own Son, Jesus, to walk among us.  The New Testament records frequently of how the Pharisees of the time hated Jesus and tried to trap Him in order to get rid of Him.  Back then you could be stoned to death just for saying something offensive. 

Check out this particular story from Matthew 22:15-22 :

15  Then the Pharisees went and plotted together how they might trap Him in what He said.  16  And they sent their disciples to Him, along with the Herodians, saying, “Teacher, we know that You are truthful and teach the way of God in truth, and defer to no one; for You are not partial to any.  17  “Tell us then, what do You think? Is it lawful to give a poll-tax to Caesar, or not?”  18  But Jesus perceived their malice, and said, “Why are you testing Me, you hypocrites?  19  “Show Me the coin used for the poll-tax.” And they brought Him a denarius.  20  And He said to them, “Whose likeness and inscription is this?” 21  They said to Him, “Caesar’s.” Then He said to them, “Then render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s; and to God the things that are God’s.”

22  And hearing this, they were amazed, and leaving Him, they went away.

This translation uses the word “likeness” instead of the word “image” which means the same thing.

But did you catch what Jesus said?

He told them that because the coins bore the image of Caesar on them, they should give them to Caesar.  In other words, you should pay your taxes.  But then He said to give God what is God’s, and by the same parallel it means to give God what bear’s His image.

So what (or who) bears the image of God?

You got it!  We do.  We must pay our taxes and support our governments (Romans 13:1-3), but we must give ourselves to God.

That is why Jesus came.  The world had become so polluted by sin that God had to keep His distance.  But He sent His Son as a way to reconcile His people to Himself because He loves us so much (John 3:16).

Whether you know God personally or not, you bear His image.  You were made to be with Him.  Why not give yourself to Him today? 

Romans 10: 9, 10, 13 says this:

If you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.  For “WHOEVER WILL CALL ON THE NAME OF THE LORD WILL BE SAVED.”

That’s all there is to it.  You just have to believe in your heart that Jesus is the Savior and that He was raised from the dead by God.

If you believe that, all you have to do is pray:

Dear God,  I believe that Jesus was your Son and that He died for my sins.  I believe that You raised Him from the dead and that He is alive today.  I confess that I am a sinner and ask Your forgiveness for my sins.  I accept Jesus as my Savior now and know that I will live with Him eternally.  Thank you for saving me.  In Jesus name, Amen.

If you prayed that prayer and really meant it, you and I are brother/sister in Christ.  And that is so amazing!!  You’re about to embark upon the most incredible journey.  I’m not saying it’ll be all a bowl of cherries from now on.  Living the Christian life is not easy.  But when you keep your eyes on God, amazing things can happen.  If you read some of my past blogs you can learn about some of my journey with Christ.  And I’ve barely scratched the surface of my life in my blogs.

I found a website with a wonderful prayer for salvation and more information for after you’ve prayed.  I highly recommend you check it out.

If you’ve decided not to do this right now and have questions, feel free to ask.  You can send questions directly to my email below.

If you’ve prayed that prayer for the first time, I’d love to hear about it.  Please leave a comment below or email me directly at sharon31673@yahoo.ca.

May God truly bless all His image bearers,

Sharon

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christian living, This 'n that and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

