Pain for a Lifetime?


Is it crazy to wish that they’d find something wrong? A tumor, a fracture, anything?

I spent 6 hours in the emergency room yesterday because the pain in my back was so bad I couldn’t go to the bathroom.  They took x-rays after much poking and prodding and making me move even though I almost screamed whenever I did.  I’ve been dealing with serious back pain issues for most of my life.  How bad it was today scared me a bit, so that’s why I went to the ER at all, knowing that I’d be there for hours.

The x-rays showed nothing that shouldn’t be there.

For a good portion of my life I’ve suffered with pain that doesn’t have a cause.  And it still doesn’t.  When you can’t find a cause you can’t treat the symptoms.  At least none of the treatments for my symptoms (usually a drug of some type) have really helped much.

It makes me wonder if I’m headed for another decade of debilitating pain for which there will be no relief.

I don’t want to go there, but if God wants me to serve Him with a thorn in my side (or my back), I will serve Him with a thorn in my side.

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in just a venting moment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

