Sunday – Week 1


Week 1 Assignments

Sunday’s assignment is:

“Read this post of assignments.  Make sure you have a place to read and study. Have your supplies ready. A few suggestions: pen, highlighters, journal or notebook, Bible, and of course your copy of Hidden Joy in a Dark Corner.  Read back over the verses in this post.  Record at the front of your journal/notebook these verses. Read them often to remind yourself of what God’s Word says. Use these verses to combat any negative or defeating thoughts in your head.”

As I said in my previous blog, my blog will be my notebook.

“These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33

“Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me.” – John 14:1

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” – John 14:27

And looking at them Jesus said to them, “With people this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” – Matthew 19:26

18 “Do not call to mind the former things,
Or ponder things of the past.
19 “Behold, I will do something new,
Now it will spring forth;
Will you not be aware of it?
I will even make a roadway in the wilderness,
Rivers in the desert. – Isaiah 43:18-19

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name; you are Mine!  – Isaiah 43:1b

These are the Scriptures that Melissa suggested to put at the front of our journals to help combat negative or defeating thoughts in our heads.  I’d like to add one more.  I learned about this verse from reading Neil Anderson’s The Bondage Breaker:

…and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. – 2 Corinthians 10:5b

That means that when we have a negative, self-disparaging thought or even a painful memory come into our head and start dragging us down, we need to give it to God.  Just say, “God, I know this is not from you because only good things come from you.  Take this painful memory or negative thought from my mind and guard my heart and mind against any further attacks of the enemy.”  Because that’s what it is, when those things creep into your head…they are attacks from the enemy.  And I know it sounds much easier than it actually is.  It requires conscious effort and vigilance.  But in day-to-day life it’s hard to guard against those tactics of satan.  You get busy in your life and let your guard down.  I haven’t figured out myself how to stay on guard all the time.  Actually, I do know how to do it, I just can’t seem to do it.  I’m certain it just requires keeping your focus on God.  I do not have that kind of self discipline…yet.  But, I’ll get there.

Be blessed,

Sharon

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

