Wednesday – Week 1


Week 1 Assignments

Wednesday’s assignment:

After reading chapter 1 yesterday, we are still left with Wendy hopeless.  Can you relate to that?  Still feeling hopeless?  Well, this is where the study gets good!  Turn to “Reflection and Study” section of your book on p. 177.  Today, complete the questions for chapter 1 on p. 178-179.  Record your answers in your journal.  Read Wendy’s prayer for our journey together on p. 179. Read it aloud. Decide to believe this prayer for you…for all of us.

After reading Chapter 1 yesterday, I can say I felt the hopelessness of others in my spirit.  It wasn’t, however, all that long ago when I did feel hopeless – all you have to do is look at my posts from early in May and you’ll see that.  God has done some major work in me lately.  Attending intercessory prayer at my church certainly helps things along with that.

I think now that God led me to this study for a few reasons: to help continue my healing and to pray for and encourage the others in this study.  I think that’s why He led me to blog my writing for this study instead of using a journal.

Reading the posts of the ladies in this study was heartbreaking – and I couldn’t read them all, there were so many.  There was so much pain and despair in those comments.  It really broke my heart.  But I am praying for those women; that they will find healing and freedom in Christ.

Now to continue on; I really wish I had a hard copy of the book.  I have an e-reader version which I can only read off of my computer for now.  (Praying for a Kindle)  It does make it a little difficult to put the questions and answers on my blog.  I guess I’ll have to write it out and then type it out – not so easy to write right now with my right hand in a brace.  Oh well, let’s get to it.  The questions are directly copied from the book (cited at the end of the blog).  My answers will be in a different color font:

1. Do you currently have a loss, a hurt, or trial that is burdening your heart?  I have bad issues of trust because of things from my past
a. How does this burden currently affect your life? It doesn’t affect it in a good way…It makes it difficult to trust anyone, even my husband
b. Have you tried to deal with this issue through means other than God? Yes
(1) If yes, what have you done? Basically I’ve tried dealing with it by not dealing with it
(2) Did it successfully resolve any of these issues?  Not at all

2. How would you characterize your faith in God?
a. I am not sure there is a God.
b. There is probably a God, but I do not know Him.
c. I have some faith and it’s growing.
d. I have a strong faith. I would have to say it’s in between c & d

3. If you chose c or d above, has the hurt or pain that you shared in question 1 affected your faith? Has it made you question God’s love, His goodness, or the Truth of the Bible? Explain. It hasn’t made me question any of these things, but made me think less of myself as a Christian.

4. Are there emotions flowing from this pain that strongly control your life (anger, jealousy, fear, resentment, etc.)? If there is more than one, prioritize them from strongest to weakest. I don’t know if I’d say they strongly control my life, but self-condemnation, mistrust, fear are probably the top three

5. Do these emotions affect you daily? If yes, do they also affect those around you? Explain how. They don’t affect me daily but that is a new thing…it’s only been in the past year that I’ve experienced some freedom from them.  I’m sure that they do affect those around me because they are primarily my husband and kids and they know when mom’s having a bad day.

6. If you have a hurt, a burden, or a struggle you are carrying right now, I invite you to open your heart, even if it is just a little bit, and allow God access as you begin your journey through this book. Even before this book was published, I prayed for every woman who would one day read it. I prayed specifically for you, my friend, that you would come to know God in a new and fresh way.

Now that you have this book in your hand, let me pray for our journey together:

Heavenly Father, we acknowledge You as our Creator and the One who loves us just as we are. Together, my new friend and I come before You and give the next weeks to You as we begin this journey together. Lord, I ask that You open her heart to receive all the wonderful Truths You have in store for her. You led her to choose this book because You have a powerful work You want to perform in her life. I pray that as she turns each page, she would experience the power of Your healing touch. Thank You for Your promise that when we seek You with all of our heart, we will find You. I claim that for her right now. I pray she will experience You in a powerful way. We thank You in advance for all You will do. It is in Your Son Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.*

These are not in-depth answers, but I’ve had an exhausting day; which is why I’ve done this in the evening instead of the morning.  I may edit it at another time.

Be blessed,

Sharon

*Blight, Wendy (2009). Hidden Joy in a Dark Corner: The Transforming Power of God’s Story . Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition.

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday – Week 1

  1. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    I still do not have this book,so thank you for your post so that I can copy and paste and try to answer. The pain of others is hard to digest. The pain and suffering of homeless people or animals, or abused ones. But the real pain in her being abused is just heart breaking as you said. If we lift up each other we will get through the troubles times and God will bless us. Loved this and thanks. Jackie

Leave a Reply

