Friday – Week 1


See Melissa’s vlog here.  It’s wonderful and ties into what I post below.

Below is my comment on her blog:

I love your little video!  You have a wonderful sense about you.

I haven’t checked out that blog about Thought Stopping, but I will.

But I wanted to mention another scripture besides the one from Philippians that you mentioned.  It’s a verse that I mention many times in my blogs.  It’s the last part of verse 5 of 2 Corinthians chapter 10.  “…take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” (NIV).  I learned about this verse while reading “The Bondage Breaker” by Neil Anderson, another book which was instrumental in breaking free of a lot of strongholds of satan.  This verse reminds us to stop negative thoughts and give them to God.  The following is a quote from my blog posted January 26, 2011 entitled The Battle for the Mind:

“We have no control over the thoughts that pop into our head for the most part.  It’s when we allow them to take up residence that we are asking for trouble.  That is satan’s strategy.  He’ll introduce something into our minds, ever so subtly, and wait for us to destroy ourselves with it.  He’s a master of it, which is why he is known as the father of lies.  But when we grab that thought before it takes root and give it to God, it has no power.  satan, then, has no power.  It is a conscious effort to do that.  It becomes more of a second nature as we learn to trust in God more.”

I’m not sure if it’s right that I post stuff from my blog (on Melissa’s), but what Melissa says in her vlog is absolutely true and what I wrote, I wrote from experience.  Even if you read my blog, you’ll find that I fail at this control over my own thoughts even after I wrote the one I quoted above.  Very recently I went through a tough struggle.  One thing also to remember is that this is a trick of the enemy.  He wants to keep you down and this is his best tactic.  If you read or listen to Joyce Meyer (which I also recommend) she’ll tell you the same thing. 

Don’t give the enemy the opportunity to mess with your head.  When you dwell, as Melissa (and the apostle Paul in the book of Philippians) said, on what is pure and right, especially if you dwell on Jesus, satan cowers.  When you are washed in the blood of the Lamb, when you are daughters of the living God, the enemy has no power or authority over you…unless you allow it.

Be blessed,

Sharon

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

