Wednesday – Week 2


Melissa posted a vlog on her site.

Wednesdays Assignments:

Complete #1, #2, #3, and #4 in the Bible study section of Chapter 2 on p. 180.  Record your answers in your notebook.  Is there anything you’d like to share with the group?  Then do it!   Did God’s Word speak to you today?

So I will post the questions below and my answers will be in a different font:

1. List five characteristics of God that you knew before you opened this book.  All-powerful, all-knowing, loving, the Creator, King

2. In this chapter, you learned that God is sovereign. Sovereign is defined as possessing supreme power.
a. Does knowing God is sovereign comfort you or make you more confused in your circumstances?  Both  Explain.  I sometimes feel as Wendy felt; having supreme power means that God could have prevented or stopped bad things from happening to me.  Why would He choose not to?  But it is comforting to know the He has supreme power and can prevent and/or stop bad things from happening to me.
b. What does 1 Timothy 6:15 tell you about God?   He is the King of kings and the Lord of lords
c. What does Jeremiah 10:12 tell you about God?  He made the heavens and the earth by his power, wisdom, and understanding.

3. You also learned that God is wise.
a. Read Romans 11:33 and share what it tells you about God and wisdom.  His wisdom is deep
b. Read James 3:13–18 regarding wisdom.
(1) Describe heavenly wisdom.   “…it is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy.”
(2) Describe earthly wisdom.   “(it is) natural, earthly, demonic.”  It is compared to jealousy & selfish ambition.
(3) What is the difference? Earthly wisdom leads to problems.  Heavenly wisdom leads to everything good.

4. God’s wisdom extends not only to His creation (the earth and stars), but also to you personally. Read Psalm 139:1–18. What do these verses tell you about how God knows you?*  He knows when I sit and when I stand; He knows what I’m thinking; He knows where I go and what I do; He is “intimately acquainted” with everything about me; He knows what I’m going to say before I say it; He goes on ahead of me and covers my back; What He knows is way beyond me; There’s no way to get away from Him or hide from Him; He is everywhere I am; Whether things are good or bad He will lead me and take care of me; Even when I’m afraid, He knows no fear – fear does not exist for Him; He formed my insides and all parts of me inside my mother’s womb; There has never been anything about me that He didn’t know about – even though it’s a secret to me; He knows how long I will live – and he knew that before I was even born; He thinks wonderful things about me and He thinks about me all the time; I could never number how often He thinks about me.

God gave me this passage a couple of months ago when I was on a retreat.  Every time I’ve looked at it since, I’ve gotten something new from it.  It’s even more wonderfully encouraging now, having paraphrased it for myself.

It gives new meaning, at least to me, of that little saying my dad likes to say, “God don’t make junk.”

Be blessed,

Sharon

*Blight, Wendy (2009). Hidden Joy in a Dark Corner: The Transforming Power of God’s Story (Kindle Locations 2581-2582). Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition. 
About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

