Thursday – Week 2


Melissa posted a vlog.

Thursday’s assignment:

Complete #5, #6, #7, and #8 in the Bible study section of Chapter 2 on p. 180-181.  Record your answers in your notebook.  Share anything you want to share or discuss on the blog or FB page.  I’d really love to hear your answers to #6 and #7 if you care to share :)

As before, I’ll post the questions and answer in a different font:

5. Finally, you learned that God is love. Scripture tells us God loves unconditionally with an everlasting love.
a. What does Romans 8:38–39 tell you about God’s love? God will never hate us
b. What does that mean to you personally? God loves me no matter how much I screw up
c. Can you feel that love and trust in your current situation?  I don’t know.  If not, explain why not.   It’s a concept impossible to grasp.  I have troubles trusting my husband and children, so how could God love and trust me like that?
d. Do you remember a time when you really felt God’s love?  Yes  What were the circumstances?  I was desperately reaching out to Him at the time.
e. Was there a time when you felt abandoned by God? Yes.  What were the circumstances?  I’ve felt that way pretty much every time my life fell apart

6. Ponder the following words describing God. Has God ever been any of these to you? Which ones and why?
a. Deliverer
b. Counselor
c. Bread of Life
d. Strong Tower
e. Redeemer
f. Prince of Peace
I’m sure He has been all of these things for me, but I’m not sure what they all mean.
7. Has your perspective of God changed as you have examined who He is in Scripture? It has encouraged me

8. What does this mean in your present circumstances?  I hope it means that I will be successful in returning to an intimate connection with God – one that is continuous, not feeling close one day and far apart the next.

Join me again as we pray for our journey:

Heavenly Father, we come before You, our Sovereign and Holy God. Please reveal Yourself to us through Your Word. Make Yourself known in a specific way so that we know that it is You who is at work in our midst. Thank You that You are the One who redeems us from the pit of darkness and despair, You are the One who delivers us from our sorrow and pain, You are the One who brings peace in the midst of a storm, and You are the One who will fill all the empty and hurting places in our hearts. Show us in very real ways how wide and high and deep and long is Your love. We ask this in Jesus’ name. Amen. *

Be blessed,

Sharon

*Blight, Wendy (2009). Hidden Joy in a Dark Corner: The Transforming Power of God’s Story . Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition.
About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

