Wednesday – Week 3


Wednesday’s assignment:

Complete questions 1-3 in the Bible study section. p. 182   Please share #1 on the blog and FB page.  How do you feel about the Bible?

I’m actually doing this on Friday but setting it up to appear to post on Wednesday.  I hope I can get back on track next week.

1. Which statement below best describes how you feel about the Bible?
a. I have never read it.
b. I have read it some but do not understand it.
c. It is an interesting history/storybook.
d. I use it as a guide for living, but I also look to other sources for truth. I would have to say this one applies to me…and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that but I guess “e” is the better one.  But I don’t know if it’s possible to feel that way if you have struggles that keep you from being close to God
e. It is my daily bread. It is the only Truth by which I live my life.

2. Read the following Scriptures and then explain in your own words what each says about the Bible.
a. 2 Timothy 3:16–17 – these verses say that all Scripture is from God’s words and are to be used to train believers, prove God’s ways and show people the err of their ways; and to do this so that everyone can be well-equipped to do God’s will
b. 2 Samuel 22:31 and Proverbs 30:5 – The word of God is proven true and he will protect you
c. Matthew 24:35 – God’s words will always be
d. Psalm 119:89–91 – (I had to look at a few translations for this one) The Lord and His word will last forever and be applicable for any time

3. Read Hebrews 4:12.
a. What does it mean when it says God’s Word is “living”? I like what the Amp version says “active, operative, energizing, and effective”
b. What about “active”?
c. The verse continues, “it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit … judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” Have there been times in your life when you have read the Bible and experienced “penetration” and/or “judging”? Yes If so, how did you respond? I don’t really know, but I think I usually realize the epiphany but I’m bad for forgetting about it and going on as I was
d. If you have not experienced the Bible in the way described above, why do you think this is the case? Are you now willing to allow God’s Word to do this in your life? I want it to be different; I want the Bible to become more real to me; I want more intimacy with God

 

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in This 'n that. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

