Monday – Week 5


Melissa posted a blog which will direct you to a message by Wendy Blight, author of Hidden Joy.

Monday’s assignment:

Read Chapter 5, On the Mat in your Hidden Joy book.  Highlight the parts of the chapter that stick out to you or you want to remember.  Share on the blog today how this chapter speaks to you in your life.

The 2 Corinthians 10:5 verse is one that I have been living by for a long time.  It is how I was able to get off anti-depressant medication.  Grabbing those negative thoughts and giving them to God was how I made it out of a pit of clinical depression.  I’m not always successful.  The negative thoughts on occasion grab hold of me.  I get past them much faster than I used to.  I wonder if I would do better if I did what Wendy did.  She said to “recognize the thought and answer it with the Word of God.  We strip the thought of its power over us as we put it up against Scripture.”*  I never did that exactly, but then, I don’t have that much Scripture memorized.

The John 5 story or the paralytic on the mat was one that I had never looked at that way before (at least not until I read a bit of this same chapter on a Proverbs 31 Ministries devotional).  We have to choose to get well.  And it’s not as easy a choice as it ought to be.  Our misery can become our identity…I know that’s what’s happened to me.  But how does one change that?  Wendy suggests using Scripture.  I am going to start getting into the Word more.  I’m scared of change but I want to change…I’m not sure which is stronger, my fear or my desire.

I’m much too tired to try to write anymore about this, though I want to…I can’t make a thought form to make sense right now.

I shall continue tomorrow.

Be blessed,

Sharon

 

*Blight, Wendy (2009). Hidden Joy in a Dark Corner: The Transforming Power of God’s Story (p. 74). Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition.
About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday – Week 5

  1. tazladyok1965 says:

    Sharon, I don’t have that many verses memorized yet either, but what I did was type and print out verses that really spoke to me in Wendy’s book or from other sources and I keep that page handy and when I start having negative thoughts or feelings I replace them with one of the verses. I also made a “God Box” like someone had posted as a comment to one of my blog posts. On my “God Box” I have several verses typed out to help me.

Leave a Reply

