Wednesday – Week 6


There’s a vlog on Melissa’s blog.

Today’s assignment:

Question 3 is a two part doozy, but oh so good – check here today for a vlog…I will go ahead and give you  a word of caution now in case you work ahead…there will be situations in which you will not want and/or need to contact the person you need to forgive – forgiving is not an option – but how and if we go about this specific step is an option…long story short – in some cases it would not be safe or in your best interest to approach this person

Stephanie said something that really struck me on the vlog…we can’t make God love us less, and we can’t make God love us more.

3. Scripture teaches that forgiveness is not optional.  Jesus died on the cross to save you from your sin.  You did nothing to deserve His forgiveness. He gave it freely with no conditions attached.
a. Read Luke 23:34.  Jesus models His standard of forgiveness.  You forgive not because the other person deserves or earns your forgiveness.  You forgive because you have been forgiven.  Prayerfully consider extending forgiveness to the person you find hard to forgive.  Ask God to soften your heart and then pray the following prayer:

Heavenly Father, Your grace amazes me.  Thank You for dying on the cross for me when I was still a sinner.  Thank You for suffering pain, humiliation, and rejection for me.  Thank You that Your sacrifice was sufficient to forgive all my sin.  I know my un-forgiving attitude toward (name) has grieved Your heart.  Forgive me for not extending grace and forgiveness the way You extended it to me.  You know how he or she has hurt me, Father.  I ask in the name of Your Son, Jesus, for the strength to forgive (name).  I leave all my pain and hurt at the foot of the cross, and I ask You to begin your healing work in my heart and mind.  Take away my selfish thoughts and fill me with thoughts that are pure, righteous, and praiseworthy. Amen.

b. After you have prayed this prayer and meditated for some time on what Jesus has done for you, contact this person and ask for his or her forgiveness.  Share what God has taught you through this exercise.

I don’t know…this is a tough one.

3. Scripture teaches that forgivenss is not optional.  Jesus died on the cross to save you from yo sin.  You did nothing to deserve His forgiveness. He gave it freely with no conditions attached.
a. Read Luke 23:34.  Jesus models His standard of forgiveness.  You forgive not because the other person deserves or earns your forgiveness.  You forgive because you have been forgiven.  Prayerfully consider extending forgiveness to the person you find hard to forgive.  Ask God to soften your heart and then pray the following prayer:

Heavenly Father, Your grace amazes me.  Thank You for dying on the cross for me when I was still a sinner.  Thank You for suffering pain, humiliiation, and rejection for me.  Thank You that Your sacrifice was sufficient to forgive all my sin.  I know my un-forgiving attitude toward (name) has grieved Your heart.  Forgive me for not extending grace and forgiveness the way You extended it to me.  You know how he or she has hurt me, Father.  I ask in the name of Your Son, Jesus, for the strength to forgive (name).  I leave all my pain and hurt at the foot of the cross, and I ask You to begin your healing work in my heart and mind.  Take away my selfish thoughts and fill me with thoughts that are pure, righteous, and praiseworthy. Amen.
b. After you have prayed this prayer and meditated for some time on what Jesus has done for you, contact this person and ask for his or her forgiveness.  Share what God has taught you through this exercise.

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

