Wednesday – week 7


Wednesday’s assignment:

Fill in these blanks without looking (if you can!).

“For God has not ___________ us a spirit of ___________ and timidity, but of ___________, love and ______  _________.” 2 Timothy 1:7  NLT

Complete #1-3 in the Bible study section of your book. p. 193

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline.

1.  In this chapter, you learned about strongholds.  Mine was fear.  There are many others (worry, lack of forgiveness, bitterness, addiction, prejudice).
a. As you read this chapter, did the Lord reveal any strongholds in your life? I’m going through a problem right now that is a result of a stronghold, but I don’t even know what to call it.  Someone hurt my feelings and it sent me running and hiding and into a downward spiral of believing I’m worthless and everyone agrees.
b. If He did, does your stronghold control your day-to-day living? It sure can  If so, how? I get very down, to the point of being pretty useless for anything and being over-emotional.  This morning I couldn’t even stay for the service at church.
c. What, if anything, have you done to try to overcome your stronghold? I’ve prayed about it, cried about, posted it on Facebook even, hoping someone will comment something that will make me feel better.  d. Has it worked?   Not really

2.  Read Ephesians 6:10-17.  Describe the pieces of armor listed in these verses.  The belt of truth, the breastplate of righteousness, the shoes of the preparation of the gospel of peace (what does that mean?), shield of faith, helmet of salvation, sword of the spirit which is the word of God. How do you think God intends for you to use the pieces of armor to protect yourself?  I don’t know, I really don’t understand what it means

3. Read 2 Corinthians 10:3-5, Hebrews 2:14-15, and Ephesians 6:10-17.  Explain whom your battle is against and how God’s Word promises to empower you to be victorious in this battle.  The battle is against the devil and it is spiritual;
a. Satan’s goal is to keep you imprisoned in your stronghold so you cannot live out the incredible plan God has for your life.  Do you believe that your struggle is actually against Satan, not against your stronghold or the one who caused your stronghold? I know it is
b. Will you trust God at His Word and surrender your stronghold?  I will try Will you agree to surrender any anger, hatred and/or bitterness you may have against flesh and blood on this earth (a parent, an attacker, a husband, a sibling, or a circumstance)? I will and I will try not to take it back  Acknowledge that your battle is against Satan, and arm yourself for battle against him, claiming each piece of armor and the power of God’s love.

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday – week 7

  1. tazladyok1965 says:

    Here is what I answered for question 2 about the armor of God:
    The full armor of God means the Holy Spirit within us, and being covered with Jesus blood to forgive our sins and protect us, and daily prayer time with God, and faith and hope in God that He will always be there for us, and the Word of God to show us the Truth and expose the lies that Satan tries to get us to believe. If we study God’s Word and let His Words into our heart we will learn the Truth and defeat Satan.
    I don’t know if it is right, or if I understand it all correctly, but this is what was on my heart when I was studying this verse. I hope it helps you.

Leave a Reply

