Thursday – Week 7


Melissa posted a blog.

Thursday’s assignment:

Fill in the blanks, no peeking for real today :)

“For _________  ______  ______  _________ us a ____________  of  _________ and timidity, but of __________, ______, and ___________.” 2 Timothy 1:7  NLT

Complete #4-5 in the Bible study section of your book.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline.

4.  Scripture reveals more about God’s love in John 3:16 (NASB) – “God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.”  John 10:10 says that Jesus gave His life so that you would have life and have it abundantly.
a. Do you believe that God loves you? Yes
b. If you do not believe this, what causes you to doubt God’s love for you?
c. To be victorious in this battle, you must surrender your doubt.  Are you willing to do this?  Yes  Will you believe God at His Word that He loves you with an unconditional and everlasting love? Yes

5.  Have you ever given your whole heart to Christ?  Yes Have you ever surrendered your life to the very One who created it?  Yes, but I keep taking it back. Once you believe God’s amazing love for you and accept His Son, Jesus, as your Savior, Scripture says you are a new creation…not just reformed or rehabilitated, but a completely new creation.  All that is old (your scars, your fears, your old habits, etc.) is gone, and He makes all things new (2 Cor. 5:17).
a. If you have not yet given your heart to Christ, what is keeping you from surrendering to Him?
b. Write out a prayer or a plan as to what steps you need to take to be able to surrender your heart to God. I need to change my thinking.  I need to break down the strongholds the enemy has set up in my mind.  I need to quit being afraid of change.  I need to quit always opting for the familiar.
c. If you have given your heart to Christ, are there old things in your life that are keeping you from enjoying the abundant life that God promises through Christ?  Yes List those things. There’s a few things I could list.  I grew up believing that who I was, was an unloveable and unacceptable type of person.  And it’s always there in the back of my mind; probably because I don’t love who I really am.  I don’t even know who I really am anymore.
(1) Do you need to let go of the things you listed above?  Yes Write a prayer surrendering them to Christ.  God, I don’t know how to be myself.  I don’t even know what “myself” is.  Maybe that’s why I when someone hurts me, I fall to pieces.  I assume they hurt me because there is something about me that’s terrible.  So I hide.  I’ve been doing that for so long, I don’t know who I am anymore.  I’m afraid to be myself, because my self must be terrible because I’ve been hurt so many times.  Why else would people hurt me unless there was something really terrible about me?  I think the reason I keep taking back what I surrender to you is because I don’t want to see this terrible me and I’m afraid You’ll show it to me.  I guess I’d rather not know.  I became a Christian so very young, how could I be a new creation?  I’ve just always been something that people just didn’t like.  Something to be made fun of or used and tossed aside.  I want to surrender it to you, I don’t want to be in pain or hiding all the time.  But what more could possibly be done?  I’ve been a Christian for 34 years, but my life and my mind is a mess.  How could I become anything “new”?  I don’t know what to do.
(2) Do you need to relinquish control over your circumstances?  Yes  Will you trust God with those circumstances? I’m trying to.

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday – Week 7

  1. tazladyok1965 says:

    Sharon, I know exactly how you feel. I have been there too in the past, and until recently. I felt that no one could love me or that they only wanted to hurt me because I was bad. Those are all lies that the devil wants you to believe! I grew up with the image that God was a mean God that punished us for doing things wrong or for being bad. One thing I had to learn was to change my image of God and to really start to believe that God loved me no matter what. I know that is hard to believe sometimes. One thing that really helped me was something that Pastor Dawn (the Pastor at my church) suggested for me to try. She called it image prayer, or something like that, anyway what you do is think of a special place that you feel safe. If you don’t have a real place that you feel safe, then you can make one up (that is what I had to do). Get an image of this place in your head. Think about what you see, what you smell, what you hear in your safe place. My safe place was on a deserted beach, I could see the water and the sky, I could smell the fresh air and I could hear the water splashing up on the beach. After you have a clear picture of your safe place in your mind, ask God to join you there. You can imagine God in what ever image is most familiar to you. (Pastor Dawn said she imagined Jesus there with her, with his long wavy hair) Once you have the image of your safe place and the image of God there with you, begin talking to God just as you would talk with a friend. Listen with your heart and your mind and eventually you will be able to hear the words God has to say to you. The first time I did this, as soon as I saw my image of God there with me, I began to cry and I could feel God wrapping His arms around me and holding me close while I cried and He told me He loved me and that He would never leave me. That changed my life! I could feel God with me. Sorry to post such a long reply.

Leave a Reply

