Wednesday – Week 8


Melissa posted a blog.

Wednesday’s assignment:

Complete #1-4 on p. 196 of the Hidden Joy book.  Write Psalm 46:10 in various places to help you remember and focus.  Quiet Time Space blog post is up again today.  If you don’t have a space yet, try to figure out how you can create one. Share today with our group where and when you have quiet time.

Check out Monday’s post to see what I have to say about quiet time space.

1. Has there ever been a person in whom you have clearly seen Christ? The first person who comes to mind is Nathan
a. What was it that drew you to that person?  He was literally glowing with the love of Jesus
b. More specifically, list the characteristics that distinguish that person from other people you know.  It was more about the change in him.  He went from being an arrogant pot head to literally glowing with the love of Jesus

2. Read the story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10:38-42.
a. Describe the personality of each sister.  Martha is a doer, Mary not so much?
b. Do you identify with one of the women more than the other?  I’m not really either, but I would not appreciate being left to do everything myself.

3. Jesus says, “Martha, Martha…You are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”
a. Martha simply wanted Jesus to tell Mary to help in the kitchen. Instead of giving her what she wanted, Jesus gently rebuked Martha. If you had been Martha, how would Jesus’ words have made you feel? I’d probably feel ashamed
b. As you read His words, how did they make you feel? I feel ashamed on Martha’s behalf. What did they speak to your heart about your life’s priorities?

4. Jesus told Martha that her dilemma and her behavior toward Mary were caused by the fact that she was “worried and upset about many things.” What are signs in your life that you are in a state of anxiety or worry? I’m impatient with everybody when I’m anxious and I cry at the drop of a hat and over stupid things. How does it affect you physically? It’s not unusual to have headaches and pain in my back. Spiritually? I often feel abandoned
a. Read Proverbs 3:5-6 and Philippians 4:6-7. What do these passages tell you to do with your concerns? To tell God about them and to give them to Him  What is God’s promised result? He will guide the way and give you peace
b. Read Matthew 6:25-34. Respond to this passage by personalizing the verses for yourself. These actually have been verses I’ve tried to live by for a very long time.  Do the same for Matthew 6:31-34. For example: I tell you, Sharon, don’t worry about your life, what your daily needs are, or about your weight or your appearance. Is not living your life in Me and for Me more important that worrying about your daily needs and your appearance? Look at the creatures I have created. They do not worry about their needs because I, your heavenly Father, provide for them. Sharon, you are far more valuable to Me than they are. You are made in my image, created for My purposes. Sharon, will all your worries add a single moment to your life?

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Hidden Joy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

