Christmas


Well, it’s that time of year again…

Boy, that’s a lame opening sentence.  How many people use that in their annual Christmas letter that they send with the family picture?

Unfortunately, I can’t think of a better line than that.  Maybe that’s why everyone else uses it.

But it is that time again; Christmas.  A time that always sends me into a plethora of emotional states.

I have to say, though, this year is a little different.

I used to get depressed as a result memories and scars from a really bad Christmas from years ago.  The sadness I feel this year has nothing to do with that.  Actually, I can hardly remember that horrible Christmas years ago.

It’s weird.

I still have some pretty bad days, but I’m also amazed at how much healing has happened within just the last couple of years.  My bad days don’t overtake me for weeks at a time.  I am actually able to not dwell on things from the past.  In fact, as I already mentioned, they’re hard to remember anymore.

This will still be a tough Christmas, but mostly for financial reasons.  For example, our bank account is at zero and my husband’s last paycheque of the month will not cover rent for January.  Hard not to fret when that happens.

I guess we’ll write a cheque for God and trust Him to help us with our rent.

Weirder things have happened.

Money has been very tight since I lost my job.  It’s hard not to get discouraged in times like these.  But in this Christmas season, I have to keep focused on a few other things.  Like the fact that we do have a place to live.

We have food. Our church gave us a Christmas hamper which we desperately need, especially now that with my husband’s paycheque, we won’t be able to buy any.

We have our family.  We won’t have to spend the holidays alone like many have to.

And we have God in our house.  And He won’t forsake us.  His Son is the reason for the Season anyway.

This is God’s season.

So, I will keep my mind on Him and enjoy this time with family and the two weeks of the kids being home (eek).  God will provide.

So, have a blessed Christmas everyone.

I leave you with one of my favorite Christmas songs.

Mary Did You Know

About Sharon

Check out my "A Bit About Me" tab to learn a bit about me
This entry was posted in Family, God, just a venting moment, Relying on God, This 'n that and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

